Requiem is Released

Posted by

NEXUS with the TorQ Percussion Quartet


Special Guest vocalists Lindsay Kesselman and Cory Knight

This multiple movement work by Russell Hartenberger is a real Tour-de-Force for percussion and voice.

The movements’ titles are Prelude, Birth of Time, Muffled Drums, Eternity, Bird of Paradise, Mist Covered Mountains, Allelluia, and Day is Done. Russell writes, “Requiem for Percussion and Voices is a personal reflection on time and timelessness. It does not follow the traditional setting of a requiem mass; instead, its eight movements have associations with death and nature including tolling bells, funeral drum beatings, a Bach chorale, Scottish pipe and drum music, bird songs, bugle calls, and March to the Scaffold from Belioz’s Symphonie Fantastique. “ Russell has drawn on exceptional musical memories – as a toddler being pulled up and down by the bell rope in his hometown church; loons he heard on a remote northern British Columbia lake; the drum beatings he played as part of the US Air Force Band stationed in Washington DC; a flute tune heard in Ghana; a bird song noticed in Arizona.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x